Cambridge Assessment
International Education

Cambridge IGCSE is one of the world’s most popular international qualifications for 14 to 16 year aged students. The flexible curriculum offers wide array of subject choices.

Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE)

The Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE) is part of Cambridge University that prepares students for life, helping them develop an informed curiosity and a lasting passion for learning. The qualifications set the global standard for international education which is created by subject experts, rooted in academic rigour, and reflects the latest educational research.

IGCSE Subjects Offered For Academic Year 2023-2024

Grading and assessment

The Cambridge IGCSE is reported on a grade scale from A* (highest) to G (minimum required performance). At Knowledgeum Academy, the assessment pattern is classified broadly into two categories; formative and summative. The assessment takes place at the end of the course and includes oral, written, coursework and practical assessment.

Recommended Reading

To know more information about the IGCSE programme, click here

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

In the Indian setting, the Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education is comparable to our high school education. A student may begin their Cambridge education in first grade and continue until class ten. In fact, a student can switch to the IGCSE board at any point. The programme is integrated in application-based learning and prioritises learners’ skills and capabilities by tailoring the curriculum accordingly. It's beneficial to comprehend Cambridge stages of assessments, IGCSE board tests are designed to gauge a candidate's knowledge and proficiency with the ideas and skills outlined in each subject area of their choosing in classes 9 and 10 rather than their memorisation skills.

If your aim is to build an academic foundation that is rooted in strong basics that is directed towards gaining national and especially, international higher education; IGCSE Curriculum is one that fits the box. It offers a globally recognised diverse curriculum that enables the learner to pursue his or her passions while they are learning. One of the prime advantages of this curriculum is that it ensures that no student feels pressured to learn a subject that doesn't interest them. The board runs with the philosophy that students in grades 8 and 9 should be capable of deciding which subjects their interests lie and must pursue them accordingly.

Depending on the candidate's area, province, or state, each curriculum has a distinct benefit; nonetheless, Cambridge is the only curriculum that offers a truly worldwide curriculum. Unlike traditional boards, the IGCSE curriculum is designed to enhance the learners’ learning experience through interactive, inclusive and immersive modes of teaching. It is designed to hone a learner's natural capabilities and incorporate individual interests to the curriculum. Another key factor that sets IGCSE apart from the rest is that it is focussed on providing excellent pre-university preparation.

IGCSE tests are typically administered twice a year, in the months of May-June and October-November, but Cambridge has allowed Indian applicants to sit for an additional exam in the months of February and March. Yet, the school has complete discretion over which exam session they choose.

Exams for the IGCSE are primarily skill-based rather than entirely content-based. You are required to comprehend the concepts and use your skills, and there is a good mix between substance and competence.

Anyone who possesses the knowledge and abilities necessary to comprehend the evaluation criteria for the Cambridge IGCSE exams. Preferably those who have successfully finished classes 8 and have completed the Cambridge-mandated class 9 and class 10 curriculum can take the IGCSE exam.

Even after completing their secondary school education through Indian boards, students will continue their education at the undergraduate level abroad. After completing IGCSE, your journey will be less stressful because you will know how to apply your knowledge in real-world scenarios, whether it be in India or overseas.

Certainly, if you have successfully finished your IGCSE programme in six subjects in addition to English. It is not only recognised by top domestic universities but also by leading foreign colleges too.

Yes! All US colleges accept the Cambridge IGCSE and A level, however programme-specific grade requirements and SAT score requirements may vary.

The Cambridge O level and IGCSE curriculum is designed for students between the ages of 14 and 16, or class 10, while the A level curriculum is for students between the ages of 16 and 18, or classes 11 and 12.

Following IGCSE, an applicant may enrol in class 11 through any Indian board, the Cambridge A-level, the IBDP, or any other comparable pre-university programme.

To pursue engineering, you can take up physics and chemistry, mathematics, computer science and languages can also help; and for medicine, you can replace computer science with biology.

Certainly, Cambridge students may take up any competitive examination as long as they meet the set criteria of the respective exams. Also, just like with any other curriculum, candidates may set aside some extra time for studying for such competitive exams.

There are many choices provided in Cambridge, the most popular languages in Indian schools are French, Spanish, Hindi, and German.